“Thank you” would suffice – but I just couldn’t figure that out

All the feels

Aspie Under Your Radar

Image description - a pod with 6 peas. Five of them are green, but one pea is red and stands out from the others. Image description – a pod with 6 peas. Five of them are green, but one pea is red and stands out from the others.

I was out shopping for stim toys yesterday at a local gift store, when I had one of those typical geek-out moments with NT folks who weren’t nearly as enthused about my subject as I was. And true to form, I couldn’t stop that downward slide into enthusiastic social awkwardness that left everyone feeling a bit strange and strained.

I guess maybe I was feeling a little self-conscious, because I was buying the colorful squishy and bendable toys that are supposed to be for small children, but were for me. I was really caught up in examining them, literally like a kid in a candy shop, and I felt a little self-conscious… braced for some social interaction, where someone might come up and ask me what…

View original post 1,365 more words

Leave a Reply

