NOT the autism book you’re looking for.

In A Different Key – Not the Autism book you’re looking for

I heard great things about NeuroTribes, and requested it from my library. They were nice enough to add it to their stock as they didn’t have it on their shelves yet.  I got about halfway through, because it’s a big book, and will be treating myself to an autographed copy for my birthday. I was not disappointed with the book – some of the subject matter is hard on the heart, but it’s info we need to truly support those we care about who are on the spectrum.

In the meantime, I heard about another book – In A Different Key. I was excited, until I read the reviews by multiple people – autistic people. And now, I don’t think I could bear it. I want to thank those people who put themselves out there to review it, to give informative feedback. I want to thank them because this book, unlike NeuroTribes, doesn’t give AUTISTIC people a place in the conversation. And it just gets worse from there.

To get a picture of the issues with In A Different Key, here are a couple of links:

Not the autism book you’re looking for by Shanno Rosa  (https://storify.com/shannonrosa/in-a-different-key)

In A Different Key – one deeply flawed story of autism by M. Kelter

If you do choose to buy it – or borrow it from someone instead of putting money in the pockets of the writers, be sure to review it on Amazon so others can see the problems before they get sucked in to the quagmire.

One thought on “NOT the autism book you’re looking for.

  1. I just started “Neuro Tribes” and I’m finding it so informative and inspiring. It makes me want to be a better parent for my autistic son.
    I’m glad I’ve seen some of the same reviews of “In a Different Key.” Life is too short to read bad books.

Leave a Reply

