listening

Yes to all of this. ❤

a diary of a mom

IMG_1482

{image is a photo of me and Brooke at my dad’s last week. She is in the middle of a Chipmunks script. We are laughing.}

I used to believe that my job was to speak for my child.

I did not yet know that it was really to listen.

To listen to her.

To listen those who experience life through a lens more similar to hers than mine.

To listen to those who know what it’s like to see what she sees, feel what she feels, know what she knows.

When I listen, I hear the same refrain again and again.

Don’t try to change me.

(It won’t really work)

Love me.

(Love me not for what I might one day be but for who I am right this very second, right here, right now.)

Love me not by trying to wedge me into your vision of what it means to…

View original post 156 more words

Leave a Reply

