part two

“If we don’t allow ourselves to look back with a critical eye on where we’ve been, we ain’t going anywhere but where we are. And our kids deserve better.” [Man, I seriously LOVE Diary of a Mom!]

a diary of a mom

 

20140822-093457-34497220.jpg

{image is a photo of Brooke and our dog, Winston in 2010. I chose it because it came from this post.}

Part two. Because there’s a part two.

Earlier today, I wrote about the fact that until Brooke was able to put language to her anxiety, I didn’t really understand it.

Until she said the words, “I don’t want to die,” I really didn’t come close to grasping the depth of her fear.

The latter is true. I didn’t get it.

The former, I realized in an ugly epiphany this morning, isn’t.

In 2011, I wrote the following in the back to school transition letter to Brooke’s team.

Emotional identification (both self and others) and expression. Brooke has been working on this round the clock this year. This has been a HUGE part of unlocking her ability to communicate, understanding social construct and both building and comprehending…

View original post 692 more words

Leave a Reply

