I knew how to read long before I could speak.

I knew how to read long before I could speak.

This post is beautiful, and so true. I have a sister who taught 3rd grade for 35 years before retiring. She was doing things that were considered “ground-breaking” a long time ago – like letting the kids with ADD sit in, next to, on, half in their chairs so they could work (as long as they didn’t bother or weren’t in anyone’s way). For the kids who couldn’t get started on a writing assignment, she’d let them dictate a couple of sentences to her, and then off they’d go, able to write with ease. She was their champion. She was a teacher. Teachers that “get it” are such a treasure!

One thought on “I knew how to read long before I could speak.

Leave a Reply

