I’m Not Sick: A rant about neurotypical privilege.

A lot of really good points here. As a non-autistic person, I do my best to be aware of all of these things. Why? Because it’s the right thing to do. The attitude of “the way I am is the best way for all to be” has been a destructive path over and over again. So when we discover we’re on that path, instead of insisting it’s the place to be, we need to see where we are and then change directions.

Feminist Aspie

I am autistic, and I’m sick of neurotypical privilege.

I’m sick of hearing that I and others like me can’t live a full life. We can, and we do. We just need a little help sometimes.

I’m sick of being told my experience isn’t real, that I’m just an attention-seeker or a special snowflake, or having those accusations directed at my parents.

I’m sick of the myth that vaccines cause autism. And even if that were true, I’m sick of people avoiding vaccinating their children because they’d rather they get ill or even die than be like me.

I’m sick of autism being compared to cancer and AIDS. The latter two are diseases which can and do kill. Autism is not.

I’m sick of hearing that autism is an “epidemic”. The reason that more people are diagnosed with autism now is that there is so much more awareness regarding autism…

View original post 887 more words

Leave a Reply

